Organisational Structure

To underscore its importance and functions, the National Institute is a Federal Parastatal in the Nigerian Presidency. At the top of the organizational chat of the Institute, is the Board of Governors, charged with giving general directions and governance for the Institute.


The Board of Governors consists of a Chairman, the Director General of the Institute and nine other members including the Chief of Defence Staff or other senior member of the armed forces; an eminent economist; an eminent political scientist; the Adviser to the Federal Government on science and technology; four persons to be appointed by the President, being persons who because of their ability, experience or specialized knowledge of administration or of professional or business attainments are capable of making useful contributions to the work of the Institute.

The board has a specific responsibility to, on behalf of the Presidency, consider and approve:

  • the long-range plan of activities for the Institute
  • the program of studies and research to be undertaken by the institute.
  • The annual budget of the Institute and
  • the investment plans of the Institute

It is also to ensure the submission of an annual report on the activities of the Institute and its administration, including audited accounts for the preceding year, to the President.

Since inception in 1979, the Institute has had boards of governors, chaired respectively by;


The chief executive of the National Institute is the Director General. He is appointed by the President and responsible to the Board for the day to day management of the Institute. He is assisted in managing the daily affairs of the Institute by three Directors (the Director of Research, the Director of Studies and the Secretary/Director of Administration) and other Principal Officers who are answerable to him on matters concerning their respective Directorates and Departments.

Since its inception in 1979, The National Institute has had Directors General as follows:

1Major. General T.B Ogundeko1979 to March, 1981
2Professor Justice TseayoApril 1981 to November 1984
3Major General Charles Ndiomu, mniDecember 1984 to January 1990
4Major General Paul Ufuoma Omu, mni CFR RCDSJanuary 1990 to December 1992
5Prof. Nura Alkali, AHSNDecember 1992 to 1999
6Major General Joseph Nanven Garba, CFROctober 1999 to June 2002
7Major General Martin Chukwudi Osahor, CONJune 2002 to April 2004
8Professor Ugo AluboApril 2004 to May 2005 (Acted)
9Venerable Prof. Akin Akindoyeni, OFR, mniMay 2005 to July 2008
10Dr. Yakubu SankeyJuly 2008 to January 2009 (Acted)
11Mr. JK OpadiranJanuary 2009 to March 2009 (Acted)
12Professor Shuaibu Ahmed Danfulani, DSCMarch 2009 to May 2010
13Prof. Tijjani Mohammed Bande, OFRMay 2010 to February 2016
14Mr. Jonathan Juma Mela, mniFebruary 2016 to August 2019 (Acted)
15Prof. Habu S. GaladimaAugust 2019 to December 2020
16Brig. Gen. CFJ Udaya (rtd) plsc+, mniDecember 2020 to March 2022 (Acted)
17Prof. Ayo OmotayoMarch 2022 till date
1Chief S.O Adebo1979 to 1982
2S.O. WeiDec. 1982 to February 1983
3Chief M.O. AniApril 1983 to 1985
4Maj Gen I.B.M. Haruna (rtd)1985 to 1993
5Maj Gen G.O. Ejiga (rtd)1993 to 1994
6Sylvester Ugo2002 to 2006
7Dakum ShawnFeb. 2006 to October 2006
8Lt Gen Saliyu Ibrahim (rtd)October 2006 to 2008
9Maj Gen Paul Ufuoma Omu (rtd)2009 to 2015
10Ignatius Longjam2018
11General AG OlonisakinInterim Chairman (October 2018 - March 2021)
12General LEO IraborInterim Chairman (March 2021 - Date)